Our Services
Home » Our Services » The Prerogative of Mercy

The Prerogative of Mercy

Section 115 of the Constitution empowers the President to grant to a convicted person, a state pardon either conditionally or otherwise, or grant a respite of the execution of punishment imposed, or substitute a less severe punishment.

The President is advised on the exercise of this power by the Commission on the Prerogative of Mercy. Membership of the Commission consists of the Attorney General as the Chairperson, and two members appointed by the President.

The Commission meets on a regular basis to consider applications for the exercise of the prerogative of mercy.


The members of the Commission are:

  • Attorney-General Hon. Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum-Chairman
  • Col. Inosi Tawakedrau-Member
  • Mrs Jane Ricketts-Member
  • Ms Vanessa Chan-Legal Advisor
  • Ms Mereoni Kalokalodrau - Secretary